Reinventing the Blog – Please Bear With Us!

JULY GUEST:

07/22 – MICHELLE MONKOU’S TROPICAL ROMANCE

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Military Wife Mementos

By Catherine Mann

Catherine Mann and Friend
As a military wife, I love it when I hear people say "I support our troops." I can tell you firsthand that our men and women in uniform appreciate the supportive letters they receive from classrooms as well as all the other forms of caring people have showered on them while they're away from home serving our country. Just the other day as we were cleaning out the garage, we came across a box of mementos my husband had saved from one of his deployments, and sure enough, he had kept every letter he received - including big fat envelopes full of precious handmade cards from elementary students and Sunday school classes.

I want to share with you a link to one of my favorite organizations that also supports military members and their families - The Fisher House Organization. Fisher House is much like a Ronald McDonald House, except located near military hospitals. Here's a snippet from their website that best describes their purpose.

"Because members of the military and their families are stationed worldwide and must often travel great distances for specialized medical care, Fisher House Foundation donates 'comfort homes,' built on the grounds of major military and VA medical centers. These homes enable family members to be close to a loved one at the most stressful of times - during hospitalization for an unexpected illness, disease, or injury."

There are many creative ways you can help - even by donating your frequent flyer miles. To learn more about The Fisher House, check out their website: http://www.fisherhouse.org/

Thanks for listening!
Cathy - author AND proud Air Force Wife

USA Today bestselling author Catherine Mann writes romance for Berkley, Harlequin, Sourcebooks and Tule Publishers. With over fifty books in print, she has won the prestigious RITA Award. Catherine and her military flyboy husband live in Florida where they brought up their four children and are active in animal rescue.


SHELTER ME, “Second Chance Ranch,” Berkley – available now!
From the USA Today bestselling Catherine Mann comes this beautiful, heartwarming novel about a returning soldier, the daughter of his fallen commander, and a very special dog with a mission. For fans of Jill Shalvis, Susan Mallery and Nicholas Sparks.

Nestled in the sunny fields of Tennessee lies the McDaniel family’s Second Chance Ranch Animal Rescue. Two new arrivals are on their way, but only one is the four-legged kind.

Staff Sergeant Mike Kowalski wants only one thing after he gets home from Iraq: to sleep in a king-sized bed with clean sheets. But first, he has to hand off his fallen commander’s dog, Trooper, to his family without handing off his heart to Sierra.

Sierra McDaniel needs a break. Her family life is crazy, and when she’s not mucking out kennels, she’s slogging through grad school. Sierra certainly doesn’t want another dog, especially one that reminds her of her father. And she definitely doesn’t want to see Mike with that charming smile of his.

But Trooper has a mission of his own. Before too long Mike is moving to the ranch to lend a hand—and hoping for his own second chance with Sierra.



From the same series watch for:
SHELTERED BY THE MILLIONAIRE, Harlequin Desire, November 2014

RESCUE ME, “Second Chance Ranch,” Berkley, February 2015


2 comments:

Judith Ashley said...

Catherine, thanks for joining us today at Romancing the Genres and especially for sharing about The Fisher House organization. A very worthy cause and a specific way to support the men and women who've been wounded or injured.

Sarah Raplee said...

Hi Catherine,

The Fisher House serves a wonderful purpose. Thank you for making me aware of this charity!

I love your Second Chance Ranch Series! Animals do indeed often bring people together. A friend of mine and her honey got together a year ago because she brought a charming little dog she was watching for a friend with her to a party.