06-18 Sarah Raplee – WHY PSYCHIC AGENTS?

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Another place. Another time. Another Regency romance.

by Vivienne Lorret

Welcome to Romancing the Genres blogspot! This month we are blogging about "another time, another place."

As you might know, I write Regency romances for Avon Impulse. In fact, I just finished writing the third book in my latest series, The Season's Original.

I love doing research for these stories and I always learn something new. The Regency era is full of interesting tidbits. In fact, in the second book of this series, THIS EARL IS ON FIRE, I learned a great deal about the Elgin Marbles. And... I might have blurred the lines between history and fiction to add a layer of intrigue to Liam and Adeline's story.

Coincidentally, their story, THIS EARL IS ON FIRE, comes out in a few days (available August 2nd, 2016).

The sheltered daughter of a country baron, Miss Adeline Pimm comes to London looking for adventure… and finds it in the form of a bloody, unconscious man slumped in the doorway of her family’s rented townhouse. Though his identity is a mystery, Adeline is inexplicably drawn to the handsome, injured man and vows to nurse him back to health.

Liam Cavanaugh, the scandalous Earl of Wolford, is startled when he awakens in an unfamiliar bed, wrapped in bandages that hinder his eyesight, with no memory of why he was beaten half to death. Although he can’t see the witty young woman who tends to his wounds, her alluring voice—and a single stolen kiss from her soft lips—helps soothe his pain. But when he is fully healed, Liam is not ready to let go of the one woman who stirs his deepest longings.

Liam will do whatever it takes to see Adeline again, even if it means giving up his rakish ways. But his disreputable past is not so easily forgotten and his secrets are far more dangerous than he—or Adeline—ever imagined.

I feel inordinately blessed for having the chance to research such a fun time in history and then share these stories with you. Thank you for stopping by!

Warm wishes and happy reading,


~USA TODAY bestselling author Vivienne Lorret loves romance novels, her pink laptop, her husband, and her two sons (not necessarily in that order ... but there are days). Transforming copious amounts of tea into words, she is an Avon Impulse author of works including: Tempting Mr. Weatherstone, The Wallflower Wedding Series, The Rakes of Fallow Hall Series, The Duke's Christmas Wish, and the Season's Original Series. Sign up for her newsletter at www.vivlorret.net


Judith Ashley said...

The Elgin Marbles are woven in to many Regency stories. Thanks for a picture! How many stories are in your "Season's Original" series? And, after all your research, would you want to live in that time period?

Vivienne Lorret said...

There are 3 full novels in The Season's Original series (THE DEBUTANTE IS MINE, THIS EARL IS ON FIRE, and WHEN A MARQUESS LOVES A WOMAN), and one novella (The Duke's Christmas Wish). Thank you for asking, Judith! <3

Would I want to live in that time period? Part of me would say "Yes! Definitely!" But the other part, who enjoys comfortable clothes, freedom, and wears contact lenses, says that the idea is more appealing than the reality. ;)

Lynn Lovegreen said...

Very cool, Viv. The Elgin marbles are an important part of history, and your novel is a good way to sneak in a little information in a fun way. :-)